ARE YOUR I-9 PROCEDURES CORRECT?

ARE YOUR I-9 PROCEDURES CORRECT?

The government has been cracking down over I-9 forms and Immigration Procedures – Here is a checklist to help:

  • Ask each jobseeker whether he/she is authorized to work in the United States. DO NOT ASK ABOUT PLACE OF BIRTH OR NATIONAL ORIGIN.
  • Have each new hire fill out a Form I-9 within three days of starting work.
  • Be sure the documents that confirm identity and authorization to work are included in the lists on the back of the I-9 Form and that they appear genuine. ACCEPT ORIGINALS ONLY.
  • If corrections are needed, attach the corrected I-9 to the previous I-9. Never alter an existing I-9.
  • Store I-9s for current employees in alphabetical order in one place (not in the employee file) and terminated employees in chronological order in a separate place.
  • Keep I-9s on file at least three years for current employees and for at least one year after an employee has left, whichever is longer.
  • If the Social Security Administration issues a “no match” letter, take no action against the employee without first going through the error checking procedures the agency recommends.
  • Train certain staff to handle the I-9 process and let no one else do it.
Conduct an annual I-9 audit. Have this done by a third-party firm or someone not involved in the day-to-day I-9 process.

 

 

– California Employer Daily Newsletter

Tags: , , ,

Leave a Reply

